Superior, NE – Seven students from the area were awarded the 2024 Evelene Brodstone Healthcare Scholarship this year. The scholarships recognize academic excellence, a passion for healthcare, and a commitment to advancing in the field. These students from Nuckolls County aim to return to the area as future healthcare professionals and leaders. Among the recipients are Sydney Biltoft from Lawrence-Nelson High School, and Teegan Duncan, Sophia Fullerton, and Nadia McMeen from Superior High School. Additionally, past recipients Haley Blackstone, Tanner Theis, and Morgan Theis are continuing their education at post-secondary institutions.

This year also saw the fifth anniversary of the Virginia Lewis Legacy Scholarship. Sophia Fullerton from Superior High School was chosen as this year's recipient alongside last year’s recipient, Mallory Kleen. The scholarship honors Virginia Lewis, who dedicated 46 years to Brodstone in various roles. In 2020, Virginia's husband, Marvin, and their three children established a scholarship fund to commemorate her nursing legacy and support those pursuing healthcare careers. Marvin passed away in January but his children look forward to carrying on this legacy for generations. 

The fourth annual Sandra Bothwell Legacy Scholarship was granted to Teegan Duncan, a senior from Superior. Sandra worked at Brodstone Healthcare for 47 years. In 2021, her husband, Lawrence “Lefty”, and their daughters, Lori Renz and Shelly Jung, created a scholarship fund in her memory to celebrate her nursing and social work legacy.

The Brodstone Healthcare Foundation, a non-profit organization, welcomes financial contributions to enhance programs and services at Brodstone Healthcare. The scholarship fund offers donors an opportunity to invest in the future healthcare workforce of Nuckolls County. For inquiries or more details about available funds, please reach out to Heather Erickson, the Senior Director of Development, at 402-207-1534.